Logo Equidia

The 4 wonders of Bold Eagle in the René Ballière Prize

2016: Bold Eagle’s first crown in the René Ballière Prize

The pressure was on the side ofEric Raffin June 26, 2016 in Vincennes. And for good reason, it was the first time that the Vendée driver was on the sulky of the son of Ready Cash. In this René Balliere Prize (Gr.1), Bold Eagle outclassed his rivals, proving that at the age of 5 he was already a great champion, he who had won his first Price of America. Since 1978, Bold Eagle became the sixth 5-year-old horse to win the Prix René Ballière after Hadol du Vivier (1978), Elf of Isigny (1982), ogorek (1985), Vivier de Montfort (1992) and Cocktail Jet (1995).

2017: Bold Eagle is on the move!

Many were waiting for him around the bend, after a disappointing Elitloppet where Bold Eagle, however favorite, had finished third, but for his comeback on familiar ground, in the temple of trotting, Bold Eagle reminded the whole world that he was indeed the king at Vincennes.

Preserved by its driver Frank Nivard, the crack made short work of his opponents in the last 200 meters of the race. Second of this classic with Valko Jenilat, Eric Raffin could only see the superiority of Bold Eagle. The latter won the René Ballière Prize for the second consecutive year. The last horse to achieve this feat was Jag de Bellouet (2004 and 2005).

2018: Bold Eagle, the champion who always rises

After the disappointment of the weekend of‘Elitloppet (Bold Eagle was disqualified in his Elitloppet battery), the champion trained by Sebastien Guarato set the record straight in this René Balliere Prize 2018, after playing the “Poulidor” all winter in Vincennes. Despite its number 9 behind the autostart, Bold Eagle take advantage of the excellent start ofUza Josselyn to take his back and control the race from the first turn. The star of the trotting temple then flies over the debates in the final phase. The richest horse in the French trot (€5,124,087) is doing as well as Bellino II, who also won Price Rene Balliere three years in a row (1974, 1975, 1976).

Bold Eagle won his 18th Group 1 on this occasion, his 40th victory and continues to assert himself as a legend.

2019: Bold Eagle quadruples the lead

Bold Eagle achieves the feat of shining in the René Balliere Prize for the fourth consecutive year on June 23, 2019, with the added bonus of a record time for him in this group 1 (1’10”2 over 2100m. autostart). There was a lot of emotion following this victory, the horse had indeed worried his entourage in the Grand Criterium of Speed ​​of the Côte d’Azur (Gr.1) in March at Cagnes-sur-Mer. This is the first for Bjorn Goop with Bold Eagle in this group 1. The horse has returned to success, he who had not won since December 30 in the Burgundy price. The double winner of American Grand Prix (2016 and 2017) thus proves that a champion never dies.

Bold Eagle joins a very exclusive club

With this fourth victory in this Prix René Ballière, the 19th Group 1 of his career, Bold Eagle enters a little more in the History of the trot. Before him, only two legendary champions have indeed managed to remove the same Group 1 at least four times consecutively. This was the case for Ourasiquadruple winner between 1986 and 1989 of the Grand Criterium of the Côte d’Azur in Cagnes, and the Prize forAtlantic at Enghien. This was also the case for One of Maywinner five years in a row of the Grand Criterium of the Côte d’Azuron the Riviera, from 1969 to 1973.

He remains to this day the only horse to have won this Prix René Ballière four times in a row.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *